Joseph Pilates, Cadillac

The Six Pilates Principles

Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, Pilates Teacher and Founder of Future Form Nice

Jenny Backlund-Jenkins

Teacher Training Director

Future Form Pilates Education

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The Pilates method is truly unique, in that it brings together principles of movement, in a way that no other exercise discipline does.

Joseph Pilates had a precise and clear vision of how to perform his exercises. He was, however, a taciturn man, to whom detailed oral and written communication did not come naturally. Consequently, over the course of his lifetime and beyond, it has become the role of his original students and the successive generation of master teachers who have followed on from them, to put his teachings into words.

Joseph did not himself use the term ‘principles’ and the so-called ‘Pilates Principles’ were extracted from his original teachings and put into writing by Gail Eisen and Philip Friedman, two students of Joseph’s original protégé, Romana Kryzanowska, in their 1980 book, The Pilates Method of Physical and Mental Conditioning.

The six principles, as defined by Eisen and Friedman, have become the closest thing that Pilates has to a written doctrine. Here we list them and give our own explanation as to their meanings.

1. Concentration

In order understand and execute Pilates exercises correctly, it is essential to be fully conscious of every movement. This demands a heightened state of concentration, in which the mind is free of distraction and tuned-in to every biomechanical progression and muscular engagement.

Concentrate on the correct movement each time you exercise, lest you do them improperly and thus lose all benefits

Joseph Pilates

Pilates exercises cannot be practiced in a state of mental auto-pilot - as is the case with many exercise disciplines. Mastering Joe’s Contrology method in all its precision and nuance, requires a fully-immersed state of physical and mental concentration, in which each part of a movement is felt by the body and processed by the brain.

2. Centering

Centering is the channeling of concentration, in that it describes the mental preparation and internal relaxation required, before engaging in Pilates movement. A prominent example of centering is activation of the core - a process that allows all movements to stem from the centre, in both a physical and mental sense.

3. Control

The concept of control is integral to Pilates, which is underlined by the fact that Joseph originally named his method ‘Contrology’.

You can say what Pilates is in three words : Stretch with strength and control - and the control part is the most important, becauce that makes you use your mind.

Romana Kryzanowska

Meticulous control must be exercised throughout Pilates practice ; from the initial process of centering, to the strict observance of correct sequencing and flow during the exercise , and accompanied throughout by perfectly synchronised coordination of breath and movement.

4. Breathing

Joseph Pilates placed great emphasis on breathing, to the point where he even invented his own breathing contraption, the breath-a-cizer. His principal guidelines on breath patterns during exercise were to empty the lungs entirely on exhaling and to never hold breath during exercise, but rather to exert precise and constant control, in order to prevent pressure on the diaphragm and the consequent outwards bulging of the abdomen.

Wring out your lungs like you would a wet towel.

Joseph Pilates

Fluency is more important than tempo in Pilates Breathing. Breath patterns have an influence on the regularity of the heartbeat and thus on the receptivity and ability of the brain. It is therefore more important to maintain fluent and soft breathing throughout an exercise sequence, in a pattern that is synchronised with the movements (see Control!), than to time the length of each exhalation and inhalation.

Oral and nasal breathing is another important aspect of breathing. The classical school of Pilates in Romana prefers nasal breathing, while the contemporary school of Pilates advocates inhalation through the nose and exhalation through the mouth.

The nose is for breathing and the mouth for kissing.

Joseph Pilates

As an advocate of the classical Pilates syllabus, FFPE adheres to the classical style of nasal breathing.

5. Precision

Precision of movement is only possible in a condition where the first four principles have been applied and, without Precision, it is not possible to engage the correct muscle groups and achieve the goal of a given exercise. Precision is not necessarily synonymous with technique, given that the same exercise will look different, when executed by people with different physiognomies. The principle of Precision in Pilates is, above all, about mastering the movement of one’s own body, so that the objective of an exercise may be achieved.

6. Flow

The principle of Flow refers to a state of constant movement in Pilates practice - even during the transitions between exercises. A fluid flow in a Pilates sequence means that there is no time for taking a break between exercises, and Concentration is therefore critical to good Flow. A loss of Concentration often leads to a break in Flow and a consequent need to stop and recenter.

The principle of Flow is most closely associated with Pilates Mat and Reformer sequences, as both forms of practice require following a set order of exercises, but it is equally important to maintain good flow and concentration, when changing from one apparatus to another.

The principle of Flow refers to a state of constant movement in Pilates practice - even during the transitions between exercises. A fluid flow in a Pilates sequence means that there is no time for taking a break between exercises, and Concentration is therefore critical to good Flow. A loss of Concentration often leads to a break in Flow and a consequent need to stop and recenter.

The principle of Flow is most closely associated with Pilates Mat and Reformer sequences, as both forms of practice require following a set order of exercises, but it is equally important to maintain good flow and concentration, when changing from one apparatus to another.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Do you want to become a Pilates instructor?

Future Form Pilates Education offers world class teacher training, which you can take onsite, in our beautiful online training centre, or remotely.

SARL Future Form | SIRET 794 218 008 00017 | Training organization n°93060858006

2020 Future Form Pilates Education. All rights reserved.

Joseph Pilates, Cadillac

Les six principes de
la méthode Pilates

Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, professeur de Pilates et fondatrice de Future Form Nice

Jenny Backlund-Jenkins

Directrice de formation

Future Form Pilates Education

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Le Pilates est une méthode unique qui réunit les principes du mouvement comme aucune autre discipline ne le fait.

Joseph Pilates avait une vision précise et claire de la façon d’effectuer ses exercices. Cependant, il s’agissait d’un homme taciturne qui ne communiquait pas naturellement à l’oral et à l’écrit. Par conséquent, ce sont surtout ses élèves originaux et la génération de maîtres-professeurs successive, qui ont réussi à articuler ses enseignements à l’écrit.

Joseph n’utilisait pas lui-même le terme de « principes », et les soi-disant Pilates Principles furent extraits de ses enseignements d’origine et mis à l’écrit par Gail Eisen et Philip Friedman, deux élèves de Romana Kryzanowska, dans leur livre publié en 1980, The Pilates Method of Physical and Mental Conditioning.

Les six principes définis par Eisen et Friedman, sont ceux qui se rapprochent le plus en détail de la doctrine du Pilates. Nous les énumérons ici, et donnons notre propre explication quant à leur signification.

1. Concentration

Afin de comprendre et exécuter correctement les exercices de Pilates, il est essentiel d’être pleinement conscient de chaque mouvement. Cela exige une grande concentration, dans lequel l’esprit ne se laisse pas distraire et est en phase avec chaque évolution biomécanique et engagement musculaire.

Concentrez-vous sur la justesse des mouvements à chaque fois que vous pratiquez, sous peine de mal les faire et de perdre tous les bienfaits vitaux qu’ils peuvent apporter.

Joseph Pilates

Les exercices de Pilates ne peuvent pas être pratiqués dans un état inconscient, comme c’est le cas pour de nombreuses disciplines. La maîtrise de la méthode que Jseph Pilates appela contrologie, avec sa précision et ses nuances, nécessite un état de concentration physique et mentale totale. Chaque partie d’un mouvement doit être ressentie par le corps et traitée par le cerveau.

2. Centering

Le Centering (centrage) consiste à canaliser sa concentration. En effet, il s’agit de notre capacité à la préparation mentale et à la relaxation interne, avant de s’engager dans un mouvement de Pilates. Un exemple important du centrage est l’activation du core (le centre du corps) – un processus qui permet à tous les mouvements de partir du centre, tant physiquement que mentalement.

3. Control

Le concept de contrôle est une partie intégrante du Pilates, d’autant plus souligné par le fait que Joseph avait d’abord nommé sa méthode « contrologie ».

Le Pilates est l'étirement et la force, avec contrôle. Le contrôle est la partie le plus importante, car on utilise le cerveau.

Romana Kryzanowska

Un contrôle méticuleux doit être exercé tout au long de la pratique du Pilates; du processus initial de centrage, au strict respect des enchaînements, et jusqu’à la fluidité des mouvements pendant l’exercice. Le tout accompagné d’une coordination parfaitement synchronisée de la respiration et du mouvement.

4. Breathing

Joseph Pilates accordait une grande importance à la respiration, au point d’inventer son propre appareil respiratoire, le breath-a-cizer. Ses principaux enseignements en ce qui concerne la méthode de respiration, étaient de vider entièrement les poumons à l’expiration et de ne jamais retenir son souffle pendant l’exercice. Il voulait un contrôle précis et constant, afin d’éviter la pression sur le diaphragme, ce qui engendre le bombement de l’abdomen vers l’extérieur.

Essorez vos poumons comme vous le feriez avec une serviette mouillée.

Joseph Pilates

La fluidité est plus importante que le tempo en ce qui concerne la respiration en Pilates. Notre manière de respirer a une influence sur la régularité des battements du cœur et donc sur la réactivité et la capacité du cerveau. Il est donc très important de maintenir une respiration fluide et douce tout au long d’une séquence d’exercices. On préfère suivre un schéma synchronisé avec les mouvements (voir Contrôle), plutôt que de chronométrer la durée de chaque expiration et inhalation.

La question de la respiration orale et nasale est un autre aspect important de la respiration. L’école classique de Pilates de Romana préfère la respiration nasale, tandis que l’école contemporaine de Pilates préconise l’inhalation par le nez et l’expiration par la bouche.

Le nez est fait pour respirer et la bouche pour embrasser.

Joseph Pilates

En tant que défenseur du programme classique de Pilates, la FFPE adhère au style classique de la respiration nasale.

5. Precision

La précision des mouvements n’est possible que si les quatre premiers principes ont été appliqués et, sans la précision, il n’est pas possible d’engager les bons groupes de muscles et d’atteindre l’objectif d’un exercice. La précision n’est pas forcément synonyme de technique. En effet, un même exercice aura une apparence différente car il sera exécuté par des personnes ayant des physionomies différentes. Le principe de la précision dans le Pilates consiste avant tout à maîtriser le mouvement de son propre corps, afin d’atteindre l’objectif d’un exercice.

6. Flow

Le principe du Flow (fluidité) fait référence à un état de mouvement constant dans la pratique du Pilates – même pendant les transitions entre les exercices. Avec le Flow, il n’y a pas de temps pour faire une pause entre les exercices, dans une séquence de Pilates. Le principe de Concentration est donc essentiel pour avoir un bon Flow. Une perte de concentration engendre souvent une interruption du Flow et, par conséquent, nécessite de s’arrêter puis se recentrer.

Le principe du Flow est plus étroitement associé aux séquences de Pilates Mat et Reformer, car ces deux formes de pratique nécessitent de suivre un ordre d’exercices déterminé. Cependant, il est tout aussi important de maintenir un bon Flow et une bonne concentration lorsqu’on passe d’un appareil à un autre.

Le principe du Flow (fluidité) fait référence à un état de mouvement constant dans la pratique du Pilates – même pendant les transitions entre les exercices. Avec le Flow, il n’y a pas de temps pour faire une pause entre les exercices, dans une séquence de Pilates. Le principe de Concentration est donc essentiel pour avoir un bon Flow. Une perte de concentration engendre souvent une interruption du Flow et, par conséquent, nécessite de s’arrêter puis se recentrer.

Le principe du Flow est plus étroitement associé aux séquences de Pilates Mat et Reformer, car ces deux formes de pratique nécessitent de suivre un ordre d’exercices déterminé. Cependant, il est tout aussi important de maintenir un bon Flow et une bonne concentration lorsqu’on passe d’un appareil à un autre.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Es ce que vous voulez devenir professeur de Pilates?

Future Form Pilates Education propose des formations de professeur de classe mondial, que vous pouvez suivre sur place, dans notre magnifique centre de formation en ligne, ou à distance.

SARL Future Form | SIRET 794 218 008 00017  | Organisme de formation n°93060858006

© 2020 Future Form Pilates Education. All rights Reserved.