Pilates Teacher Training

Future Form Pilates Education is a Pilates teacher training organization based in Nice. Our teacher training programs are unique in the Pilates community as they bridge the gap between classic and contemporary Pilates schools.

Our approach is based on the values of rigour and precision, but also and above all on respect for the origins of the discipline. Our program, designed by Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, uses world-class facilities and teaching resources. 

Our goal is to train exceptional teachers. Your career as a Pilates teacher begins here!

Comprehensive Pilates Teacher Training Programme

The complete Future Form Pilates teacher training represents the total fulfillment of our training offer. It is an extremely rigorous and highly innovative program that aims to train exceptional Pilates teachers.

In accordance with the classic Pilates programme, developed by Joseph Pilates himself, the complete FFPE training is divided into four parts; Beginner System, Intermediate System 1, Intermediate System 2 and Advanced System. 

The total duration of the training is 704 hours, including training weekends, observational work, personal practice and teaching practice. The typical duration of the full programme is 12 to 24 months, depending on the amount of time the apprentice requires to complete all requisite practice and observational hours.

Apprentices will learn to master all the equipment of the Pilates method: Mat, Reformer, Cadillac, Wunda Chair, Arm Chair, Barrel, Ladder Barrel, Spine Corrector and Pedi Pole - as well as all ancillary equipment (Foot Corrector, Toe Exerciser, Magic Circle, Arm Weights, Breath-A-Cizer).

The training program is developed by our master teacher, Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, who is also the teacher and training director.

Pilates Mat Programme

Our Mat teacher training programme is designed for those who want to start off by teaching Mat Pilates as a Mat discipline.

In the same way as our complete programme, the FFPE Pilates Mat training is divided into four parts; Beginner System, Intermediate System 1, Intermediate System 2 and Advanced System - in accordance with the classic Pilates system, developed by Joseph Pilates.

The total duration of the Mat training is 211 hours, including training weekends, observation work, personal practice and teaching practice.

The Mat training is an integral part of the complete training. Thus, students who have completed the Mat training will have the opportunity, in a second step, to reintegrate the Apparatus part of the training, in order to become a complete Pilates teacher.

The training program is developed by our master teacher, Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, who is also the teacher and training director.

Comprehensive Pilates "Bridge" Programme

Future Form Pilates Education's complete 'Bridge' training is a unique training programme in France, only available to Pilates teachers who have already completed a full training elsewhere.

The Pilates teacher training market is increasingly filled with training organisations whose approach is to produce Pilates teachers as quickly as possible, and at the lowest possible cost.

Alas, this approach is not at all well adapted to the Pilates method: an extremely rich and sophisticated discipline, which requires a total and assiduous investment from those who want to truly master it. This is why we frequently welcome teachers who are already working professionally and who are looking for additional training, allowing them to acquire a more complete and rigorous knowledge of the classic Joseph Pilates system.

In order to take the Bridge training, apprentices must attend all the training weekends, and pass the assessments and exams at the end, but do not need to complete the observation and practice hours, required in the comprehensive programme.

If you are already a Pilates teacher and you are interested in training "Bridge", contact us to find out more about the admission criteria.

Why become a Pilates teacher with FFPE?

Before embarking on a career as a Pilates instructor, ask yourself two important questions: what type of training you want to do and, most importantly, with which trainer.

Pilates training is about much more than mastering a sequence of exercises - it's about the foundation of your philosophy of practice, the establishment of your teaching approach, and the profound way you understand the discipline. These will be the building blocks of our teaching career.

Therefore, it is extremely important to identify with the training organization and, most importantly, with those who will be responsible for your training.

Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, Director of Training at Future Form Pilates Education, is a committed, passionate and respected teacher in the Pilates community in France.

Jenny is a Pilates teacher with a lot of experience. She has worked her entire career in the field of body movement - having pursued an international career as a professional dancer for 20 years, before retiring in 2010 to devote herself to the Pilates method.

Jenny has completed two Pilates teacher training courses: first with Balanced Body, a world-renowned training organization and contemporary Pilates equipment manufacturer. And then with Mejo Wiggins, an internationally renowned master teacher and heir to the knowledge of Romana Kryzanowska, the eponymous founder of the Romana school, and also master teacher of Joseph Pilates' teaching around the world in the 20th century. Jenny is thus a third generation disciple of "Joe's" teaching. The training program of Future Form Pilates Education is therefore based on the original mastery of the founder of the discipline.

Your development as a Pilates instructor will take place under Jenny's tutelage, and you will have access to her methodology, know-how and advice throughout the training.

Jenny Backlund-Jenkins
Training Director, FFPE

A perfect union between classic and contemporary Pilates

The Future Form Pilates Education is unique in the Pilates community as it is a comprehensive program that bridges the gap between classic and contemporary Pilates schools.

FFPE firmly believes that the authenticity and richness of the Pilates method lies in its origins. For this reason, mastery of the classicalrepertoire of Pilates is the foundation of ourtraining program.

Nevertheless, FFPE is fully aware that in the modern fitness industry, teachers are focusing more on teaching Pilates as "more contemporary". Contemporary Pilates is defined by the modification of certain criteria of classical Pilates. For example, with contemporary Pilates, there are more group classes and a diverse range of equipment from different manufacturers is used. Unlike classical Pilates, which fully respects these two criteria.

Therefore, in order to prepare apprentice teachers for a more diversified, demanding and modern environment, FFPE has adopted a two-pronged approach: 

1) Teach the complete classic Pilates method in a flawless manner, using traditional Gratz brand equipment .

2) Then this teaching will be supplemented by another one in parallel which will counter how to teach with contemporary equipment. Emphasis will also be placed on how to deliver mixed level group classes effectively.

This hybrid approach is very innovative - no other Pilates teacher training organization currently offers a program with such scope and detail.

Future Form Pilates Education's training programme is extremely rigorous and detailed. The training is accompanied by a personalised pedagogical approach. The number of places is therefore limited in each training cycle.

Our trainees are usually apprentices. Our aim is to carefully monitor their professional development - even after they have completed their initial training.

In order to be able to fully master what they have learned during the training weekends, the apprentices have to spend hundreds of hours in our studio, working together, learning with Jenny, and improving their practice by having contact with real clients.

FFPE's objective is to provide each of our apprentices with all the necessary skills and tools to become, one day, masters of the discipline.

A very complete program and a very rigorous teaching

World-class facilities and learning resources

FFME's teacher training centre is totally adapted to allow you to achieve the excellence of the Pilates method.

It is located in a sublime, large and bright studio, right next to the emblematic Place Masséna, in the heart of Nice. The space is equipped with the best classical(Gratz) and contemporary (Balanced Body) equipment. The studio has several areas dedicated to floor work, relaxation or personal study. 

In order to allow the apprentice teachers to carry out all their required hours of observation, personal practice and pedagogical practice, we give them access to all FFME facilities for twenty-four months from the start date of the training.

The opportunities for a certified Pilates Instructor are very diverse and rewarding. It is a profession that can be practiced worldwide and in many professional settings. According to market research, it is estimated that the global Pilates market will triple in value between 2017 and 2025. 

Our trainings are adapted to various professional profiles. It is a continuous training that can affect both professionals in the field of sports and body movement, as well as people looking for an additional activity or a new career (reconversion).

There is no typical FFPE candidate, but the training is particularly adapted to the following profiles:

  • Holders of the state certificate of sports educator
  • ALS AGEE CQP holders
  • STAPS Licensees
  • Physiotherapists and other paramedical professionals
  • Professional dancers and dance teachers
  • Top sportsmen and women
  • Sports coaches from other disciplines (fitness, martial arts, yoga, etc.)
  • Anyone who is passionate about Pilates and wishes to change their career

The opportunities for a certified Pilates Instructor are very diverse and rewarding. It is a profession that can be practiced worldwide and in many professional settings. Here are a few examples:

  • Teaching in Pilates centres
  • Teaching in dance halls, gyms and other fitness facilities
  • Teaching in private companies, in collaboration with works councils
  • Doing business in the events, hotel and leisure sector
  • Work in collaboration with professionals in the paramedical sector, such as physiotherapists, osteopaths or chiropractors.
  • Working in collaboration with professionals in the fitness and well-being sector, such as sports coaches or masseurs.
  • Work with athletes, organizations, or sports associations of all types and levels.
  • Working with individual clients
  • Working with coaching and animation companies
  • Open your own Pilates centre (...after many years of experience!)

In order to be eligible to register for the Pilates Teacher Training, the candidate must meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have a working knowledge of French and English (not necessarily mastery, but the ability to communicate in both languages).
  • Have attained an intermediate-advanced level of Pilates as a student. Candidates will be required to pass an entrance test to prove a sufficiently high level of Pilates practice to begin training.

An exciting job in a growing economic sector

What do teachers trained by Future Form Pilates Education say?

The 2020 training cycles

Future Form Pilates Education offers two training cycles each year: 1 in spring and 1 in autumn. The next training cycle starts in November 2020. You can download our brochure directly, in French or English, by following the links below.

If you would like to be kept informed of the next training cycles, subscribe to the newsletter, or contact us directly, if you have any further questions.

Training funding

Future Form Pilates Education meets the legal obligation to register with the DIRECCTE PACA, and is registered under the activity number 93060858006 (this number does not constitute state approval).

FFPE is DATADOCK registered, in accordance with Decree n°2015-790 of 30 June 2015 relating to the quality of continuing professional training actions. This listing gives all our training courses the possibility of being financed by the professional training funding bodies: Organismes Paritaires et Collecteurs Agréés (OPCA), OPACIF, Pôle Emploi, AGEFIPH.

I request information

Enter your details to be informed with details on our next training courses.  

SARL Future Form | SIRET 794 218 008 00017 | Training organization n°93060858006

2020 Future Form Pilates Education. All rights reserved.

Les Formations de Professeur de Pilates

Future Form Pilates Education est un organisme de formation de professeur de Pilates, basé à Nice. Nos programmes de formation professeur sont uniques dans le milieu de Pilates, car ils comblent le fossé entre les écoles de Pilates classiques et contemporaines de la méthode.

Notre approche est fondée sur les valeurs de rigueur, de précision, mais aussi et surtout sur le respect des origines de la discipline. Notre programme, conçu par Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, se réalise avec des installations et des ressources pédagogiques de classe mondiale. 

Notre objectif est de former des enseignants exceptionnels.  Votre carrière de professeur de Pilates commence ici !

La formation complète professeur de Pilates

La formation complète de professeur de Pilates de Future Form Pilates représente l’accomplissement total de notre offre de formations. C’est un programme extrêmement rigoureux et très innovant, qui a comme objectif de former des professeurs de Pilates exceptionnels.

Conformément au programme Pilates classique, élaboré par Joseph Pilates même, la formation complète FFPE est divisée en quatre parties ; Système débutant, Système intermédiaire 1, Système intermédiaire 2 et Système avancé. 

La durée totale de la formation est de 704 heures, comprenant les week-ends de formation, le travail d’observation, la pratique personnelle et la pratique pédagogique. La durée typique du programme complet est de 12 à 24 mois, selon la quantité de temps voulu par l’apprenti, afin de compléter toutes les heures de pratique et d’observation.

Les apprentis apprendront à maîtriser l’ensemble des appareils de la méthode Pilates : Mat, Reformer, Cadillac, Wunda Chair, Arm Chair, Barrel, Ladder Barrel, Spine Corrector et Pedi Pole – ainsi que tous les accessoires auxiliaires (Foot Corrector, Toe Exerciser, Magic Circle, Arm Weights, Breath-A-Cizer).

Le programme de formation est élaboré par notre maître professeur, Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, qui est également l’enseignante et la directrice de formation.

La formation Pilates Mat

La formation de Pilates Mat de Future Form Pilates Education est idéale pour ceux qui veulent tout d’abord enseigner le Pilates au sol.

De la même manière que notre programme complet, la formation de Pilates Mat FFPE est divisée en quatre parties ; Système débutant, Système intermédiaire 1, Système intermédiaire 2 et Système avancé – conformément au système de Pilates classique, élaboré par Joseph Pilates.

La durée totale de la formation Mat est de 211 heures, comprenant les week-ends de formation, le travail d’observation, la pratique personnelle et la pratique pédagogique.

La formation Mat est une partie intégrante de la formation complète. Ainsi, les stagiaires ayant complété la formation Mat, auront la possibilité, dans un deuxième temps, de réintégrer la partie Appareil de la formation, afin de devenir professeur de Pilates complet.

Le programme de formation est élaboré par notre maître professeur, Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, qui est également l’enseignante et la directrice de formation.

La formation Pilates complète « Bridge »

La formation complète « Bridge » (‘pont’) de Future Form Pilates Education est un programme de formation unique en France, seulement accessible aux professeurs de Pilates ayant déjà complété une formation complète ailleurs.

Le marché de formation de professeur de Pilates est de plus en plus rempli d’organismes de formations, ayant comme approche de produire des professeurs de Pilates le plus rapidement possible, et pour le moindre coût.

Hélas, cette approche n’est pas du tout bien adapté à la méthode de Pilates : une discipline extrêmement riche et sophistiqué, qui demande à ceux qui veulent la maîtriser véritablement, un investissement total et assidu. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous accueillons fréquemment des professeurs, déjà en activité professionnelle, à la recherche d’une formation complémentaire, leur permettant d’acquérir une connaissance plus complète et rigoureuse du système classique de Joseph Pilates.

Afin de passer la formation « Bridge », l’apprenti doit suivre l’ensemble des weekends de formation, et passer les évaluations et les examens à la fin, mais n’a pas besoin de compléter les horaires d’observation et de pratique.

Si vous êtes déjà professeur de Pilates et que vous êtes intéressé par la formation « Bridge », contactez-nous pour en savoir plus sur les critères d’admission.

Pourquoi devenir professeur de Pilates avec FFPE?

Avant de vous embarquer dans une carrière de professeur de Pilates, interrogez-vous sur deux points primordiaux : quel type de formation vous souhaitez faire et, surtout, avec quel formateur.

Une formation de Pilates consiste en beaucoup plus que la maîtrise d’une séquence d’exercices – il s’agit du fondement de votre philosophie de pratique, l’établissement de votre approche pédagogique, et la façon profonde dont vous comprenez la discipline. Ce seront les composantes de base de notre carrière de professeur.

Par conséquent, il est extrêmement important de s’identifier à l’organisme de formation et, surtout, avec ceux qui se chargeront de votre formation.

Jenny Backlund-Jenkins, Directrice de la formation de Future Form Pilates Education, est une enseignante engagée, passionnée et respectée de la communauté de Pilates en France.

Jenny est une professeur de Pilates avec beaucoup d’expérience. Elle a travaillé toute sa carrière dans le domaine du mouvement corporel – ayant poursuivi une carrière internationale de danseuse professionnelle pendant 20 ans, avant de prendre sa retraite en 2010, afin de se consacrer à la méthode de Pilates.

Jenny a complété deux formations de professeur de Pilates : d’abord avec Balanced Body, un organisme de formation mondialement connu et fabricant d’appareils de Pilates contemporain. Et ensuite avec Mejo Wiggins, maître-professeur de renommée internationale, et héritière du savoir de Romana Kryzanowska, la fondatrice éponyme de l’école Romana, et également maître-professeur de l’enseignement de Joseph Pilates autour du monde au 20ème siècle. Jenny est ainsi disciple de troisième génération de l’enseignement de “Joe”. Le programme de formation de Future Form Pilates Education est donc fondé sur la maîtrise d’origine du fondateur de la discipline.

Votre développement en tant que professeur de Pilates aura lieu sous la tutelle de Jenny, et vous aurez accès à sa méthodologie, son savoir-faire et ses conseils, tout au long de la formation.

Jenny Backlund-Jenkins
Directrice de formation, FFPE

Une union parfaite entre le Pilates classique et contemporain

La formation de Future Form Pilates Education est unique dans le milieu du Pilates, car il s’agit d’un programme complet qui comble le fossé entre les écoles de Pilates classiques et contemporaines de la méthode.

FFPE croit fermement que l’authenticité et la richesse de la méthode Pilates réside dans ses origines. Pour cette raison, la maîtrise du répertoire classique de Pilates représente la base de notre programme de formation.

Néanmoins, FFPE a totalement conscience que, dans l’industrie moderne du fitness, les professeurs se concentrent davantage sur l’enseignement du Pilates qualifié de “plus contemporain”. Le Pilates contemporain se définit par la modification de certains critères du Pilates classique. Par exemple, avec le Pilates contemporain, les cours en groupe sont plus nombreux et on utilise une gamme diversifiée d’appareils de différents fabricants. Contrairement au Pilates classique qui respecte pleinement ces deux critères.

Par conséquent, afin de préparer les apprentis professeurs à un environnement plus diversifié, exigeant et moderne; FFPE a adopté une double approche : 

1) Enseigner la méthode complète de Pilates classique de manière irréprochable, en utilisant les appareils traditionnels de la marque Gratz. 

2) Puis cet enseignement sera complété par un autre en parallèle qui se contrera sur la manière d’enseigner avec un équipement contemporain. On mettra également l’accent sur la manière de dispenser des cours collectifs de niveau mixte efficacement.

Cette approche hybride est très innovante – aucun organisme de formation de professeurs de Pilates n’offre actuellement un programme avec une telle portée et tant de détails.

Le programme de formation de Future Form Pilates Education est extrêmement rigoureux et détaillé. La formation est accompagnée d’une approche pédagogique personnalisée. Le nombre de places est donc limité dans chaque cycle de formation.

Nos stagiaires sont généralement des apprentis. Notre objectif est de suivre soigneusement leur développement professionnel – même après la fin de leur formation initiale.

Afin de pouvoir maîtriser pleinement ce qu’ils ont appris lors des week-ends de formation, les apprentis doivent passer des centaines d’heures dans notre studio, pour travailler ensemble, apprendre avec Jenny, et améliorer leur pratique, en ayant contact avec de vrais clients.

L’objectif de FFPE est de fournir à chacun de nos apprentis, l’ensemble des compétences et outils nécessaires, afin devenir, un jour, des maîtres de la discipline.

Un programme très complet et un enseignement très rigoureux

Des installations et des ressources pédagogiques de classe mondiale

Le centre de formation des professeurs de FFME est totalement adapté pour vous permettre d’atteindre l’excellence de la méthode Pilates.

Il est situé dans un sublime studio grand et lumineux, juste à côté de l’emblématique Place Masséna, au cœur de Nice. L’espace est équipé des meilleurs appareils classiques (Gratz) et contemporains (Balanced Body). Le studio possède plusieurs espaces dédiés pour le travail au sol, pour se détendre ou encore faire des études personnelles. 

Pour permettre aux apprentis professeurs d’effectuer toutes leurs heures d’observation, de pratique personnelle et de pratique pédagogique requises, nous leur donnons accès à toutes les installations de FFME pendant vingt-quatre mois à partir de la date de début de la formation

Les opportunités pour un Professeur de Pilates certifié sont très diverses et enrichissantes. C’est un métier qu’on peut exercer dans le monde entier et dans plusieurs cadres professionnels. Selon des études de marché, on estime que le marché mondial du Pilates va tripler en valeur entre 2017 et 2025. 

Nos formations sont adaptées à divers profils professionnels. Il s’agit d’une formation continue qui peut toucher tant les professionnels du milieu sportif et du mouvement corporel, tant des personnes à la recherche d’un complément d’activité ou d’une nouvelle carrière (reconversion).

Il n’y a pas de candidat FFPE type, mais la formation est particulièrement adaptée aux profils suivants :

  • Détenteurs du brevet d’état d’éducateur sportif
  • Détenteurs du CQP ALS AGEE
  • Licenciés STAPS
  • Kinésithérapeutes et aux autres professionnels paramédicaux
  • Danseurs professionnels et professeurs de danse
  • Sportifs de haut niveau
  • Coachs sportifs d’autres disciplines (fitness, arts-martiaux, yoga, etc.)
  • Toute personne, passionnée de la méthode Pilates, souhaitant changer de carrière

Les opportunités pour un Professeur de Pilates certifié sont sont très diverses et enrichissantes. C’est un métier qu’on peut exercer dans le monde entier et dans plusieurs cadres professionnels. Voici quelques exemples :

  • Enseigner dans des centres de Pilates
  • Enseigner dans des salles de danse, salles de fitness et d’autres établissements du secteur de la remise en forme
  • Enseigner dans des sociétés privées, en collaboration avec des comités d’entreprise
  • Faire des activités dans le secteur de l’événementiel, de l’hôtellerie et du loisir
  • Travailler en collaboration avec des professionnels du secteur paramédical, tels que des kinésithérapeutes, des ostéopathes ou des chiropracteurs.
  • Travailler en collaboration avec des professionnels du secteur de la forme et du bien-être, tels que des coachs sportifs ou des masseurs.
  • Travailler avec des sportifs, des organismes, ou des associations sportives, de tout genre et de tout niveau.
  • Travailler avec des clients particuliers
  • Travailler avec des sociétés de coaching et d’animation
  • Ouvrir son propre centre de Pilates (…après plusieurs années d’expérience !)

Afin d’être admissible à l’inscription de la formation de professeur de Pilates, le candidat doit répondre aux critères suivants :

  • Être âgé d’au moins 18 ans
  • Avoir une connaissance pratique de la langue française et anglaise (pas forcément la maîtrise, mais la capacité de communiquer dans les deux langues).
  • Avoir atteint un niveau intermédiaire-avancé de Pilates en tant qu’élève. Les candidats devront passer un test d’admission afin de prouver un niveau de pratique de Pilates suffisamment élevé pour commencer la formation.

Un métier passionnant, dans une secteur économique en pleine croissance

Que disent les professeurs formés par Future Form Pilates Education?

Les cycles de formation 2020

Future Form Pilates Education propose deux cycles de formation chaque année : 1 en printemps, et 1 en automne. Le prochain cycle de formation commence en novembre 2020. Vous pouvez télécharger notre prospectus directement, en français ou en anglais, en suivant les liens ci-dessous.

Si vous souhaitez être tenu informé des prochains cycles de formation, souscrivez-vous à la newsletter, ou contactez-nous directement, si vous avez d’autres questions.

Financement de formation

Future Form Pilates Education répond à l’obligation légale d’enregistrement auprès de la DIRECCTE PACA, et est déclaré sous le numéro d’activité 93060858006 (ce numéro ne vaut pas agrément de l’Etat).

FFPE est référencé DATADOCK, conformément au Décret n°2015-790 du 30 juin 2015 relatif à la qualité des actions de la formation professionnelle continue. Ce référencement donne la possibilité à toutes nos formations d’être financées par les organismes de financement de la formation professionnelle : Organismes Paritaires et Collecteurs Agréés (OPCA), OPACIF, Pôle Emploi, AGEFIPH.

Je demande des renseignements

Rentrez vos coordonnées afin d’être renseigné avec détails sur nos prochaines formations  

SARL Future Form | SIRET 794 218 008 00017  | Organisme de formation n°93060858006

© 2020 Future Form Pilates Education. All rights Reserved.